It’s Good To Be Old

Living in a youth-obsessed culture as we do,  it is easy for people to feel bad about growing old.  But I’m glad I’m old!

I think old people just don’t like to admit the good parts, or take advantage of them.  Some of them are:

1.  I’m still here.  A lot of people who started down this trail the same time I did – or after – aren’t around anymore.  They never got to do a lot of the things I have been lucky enough to do, and still look forward to doing.  Survivorship is it’s own reward.

2.  You don’t have to compare and compete anymore.  When we are young, we are always trying to measure up to some standard someone else has set, and to compete for things that are in the end meaningless.  In the Horse Race of Life, we think we are all at the same starting gate.  But after a few races are run, you realize that the rider next to you is on a thoroughbred, and you are on a mule.  But that doesn’t matter as much when you realize the guy a few gates down is putting a saddle on a cat.  It’s all relative.

3.  You have experience as a filter for new information.  When something new comes down the pike, you have a background to evaluate it against based on just being around for a while.  I think this is what causes younger people to say old people don’t “get it”.  We get it, we just don’t give a shit.

There are other advantages, but I don’t want to get too lengthy.  Sure, there are some things I can’t do as well anymore, but mostly those aren’t very important or can be accommodated for.

Spot me some bifocals and an escalator and I’m any man’s equal.

 

6 thoughts on “It’s Good To Be Old

  1. These are valuable points to remember as we age. I appreciate the wisdom we gain, but I wouldn’t mind being stuck at 40. I’m not having the same luck accepting age, maybe because I feel lack of $ is holding me back from all the things I wanted to do. But I’ll try to remember the good parts!

  2. “We get it, we just don’t give a shit.”

    Yep. True. Though there’s a lot I don’t get… and I still don’t give a shit!

  3. This had me laughing: “But after a few races are run, you realize that the rider next to you is on a thoroughbred, and you are on a mule. But that doesn’t matter as much when you realize the guy a few gates down is putting a saddle on a cat. ”

    Such wisdom in such witty words. That’s why you are called – “The Fool”.

    Red

Leave a Reply

