Internet Disconnect

As demographics break down, I am too over the hill to be considered a “digital native” – somebody who has had the Internet and cell phones available to them from an early age.  I went through my youth and early adulthood in analog mode.

I enjoy technology and all the cool stuff it provides, but I find I don’t have certain digital “needs” that others do.

I don’t have the constant need to be connected to anyone, so my cell phone minutes last a looooong time.   I can make a trip of several thousand miles to a place I’ve never been without the aid of satellites, GPS, and Onstar. Just the occasional glance at the Auto Club map.

I also live my life somewhat spontaneously.  I don’t need to read Yelp reviews to see if a restaurant is good.  I’ll go in and just try it.  And if it isn’t any good, oh well…I really don’t need to write a review.  The sooner forgotten the better.

I have photo albums full of faded, yellowed pictures.  I don’t need Instagram to create them.

I feel this disconnect because I like to spend my time living my life, not documenting if for people who I don’t know and probably don’t care.

I took up blogging with a message-in-a-bottle theme.  Throw a message out there, and see if anyone finds it.  It’s fun to meet new people who somehow stumble across things, rather than having them be the focus of an intense marketing campaign.

I “get” technology….it’s fun to feel connected to someone via Twitter, or form a network on Facebook or LinkedIn.  I get the appeal, I just don’t seem to be driven to jump in.

I sometimes feel like a member of a primitive tribe, plucked out of the bush and plunked down in the middle of a modern city.  While a lot of the improvements such as heat, light, and clean running water will be embraced immediately, there won’t be a real need to worry if the curtains and the carpet clash or if the place settings go with the overall decor.

It’s just not that important in the overall scheme of things.

 

2 thoughts on “Internet Disconnect

  1. I feel the same, Harry. I don’t understand the fervor over all these new apps (not even sure what an app is) and I’m not interested enough to find out. I know that older generations never understand younger ones, it’s always been that way. But this technology not only divides generations but isolates individuals. People think it connects us but it doesn’t, folks can’t even have a real-time conversation because they’re anwering their phones every couple minutes. I just can’t imagine doing that. Furthermore, I’m becoming a little paranoid about how much information is being collected about me. There really is no such thing as privacy if you have a computer and use it frequently.

    Though I have met some wonderful people through blogging, in general it has been a disappointment. It also takes up an enormous amount of time to keep up with so many blogs. More and more, simple survival requires all my time and energy.

    Your last line sums it up well.

    • I guess it depends on what you want to spend your attention on. You are right about the isolation….I remember when the corner tavern was the place people went to socialize…now everybody sits there and stares blankly into their phone, choosing to interact with people who aren’t there.

Leave a Reply

